TW5: Children’s Books 

Top Five Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey, now hosted by Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes. You can check out the Goodreads group to learn more 

This week: Childhood Favourites 

 

Old Kingdom Series, Garth Nix 

These are the books that got me into fantasy. I still credit this series as one of the best that I’ve ever read, and they’ve always stuck with me. What I really need to do is reread them so I can read the additions to the series that Garth Nix has added in recent years!


 

The Bartimaeus Trilogy, Jonathan Stroud 


My dad and I bought a copy of the first book while we were in the airport before our “father daughter” holiday when I was around 8 or 9 and we read it together every night and continued once we were home. (Aside from playing video games together) Reading was the way we would hang out. This series honestly has some of the best and funniest characters. Even now I think it’s definitely worth a read, for the footnotes alone!


 

The Saga of Darren Shan, Darren 


Another series that I would read with my dad while we were waiting for the next Harry Potter books to come out! So many parts of this book creeped me out, especially any mention of spiders, but I was hooked on Darren Shan’s interpretation of vampires. Incredible, incredible writing!


 

Confessions of Georgia Nicholson, Louise Rennison

What 10-15 year old girl wasn’t reading these books?!! Honestly… But I actually learnt a lot of things about myself and what I deserved from this book so I have Louise Rennison (RIP she was an icon) to thank for that! 


 

Jacqueline Wilson


Not only my favourite author throughout my entire childhood, but my first auto-buy author. It didn’t matter what the story was about, I would buy it just because Jacqueline Wilson had written it. 8 out of 10 times Wilson would hit the nail on the head and it would feel like she’d written the book with me in mind.
My favourites were:

Lola Rose, Vicky Angel & Midnight

Leave a Reply

