TW5: Series That Got Better

Top Five Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey, now hosted by Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes. You can check out the Goodreads group to learn more

This week: Book series that got better 

Shades of Magic Trilogy

 

V.E. Schwab – Shades of Magic Series
A great series from the start that only got better, and really made me so sad that it’s only a trilogy.

 

TMI

 

Cassandra Clare – The Mortal Instruments 
City of Bones was slow to start and just had a lot of information. When I first read this book, I stopped half way through to read Clockwork Angel (I wasn’t sick of the world, just CoB at the time), and then went back and finished it. Every book Cassie writes is better than the one before it. 

 

Lunar Chronicles

 

Marissa Meyer – Lunar Chronicles
Every book just kept getting better and better. Although I had no doubts that they would, the continuation of the series as a whole exceeded my expectations. Even the novellas were Grade A material 

 

 

 

The Bone Season Series

Samantha Shannon – The Bone Season
I actually fell in love with this series, but I remember feeling a bit nervous that the second book wouldn’t live up to the first and that I’d have to stop reading. But I’m so glad that the second book was 12x BETTER so count me in for every book in this septology

 Throne of Glass Series

Sarah J. Maas – Throne of Glass
The series that a lot of people seem to believe *gasp shock* got worse after Book 2. I’m totally against that opinion. Every book is generally better than the one before it, or all on a steady incline. The series shows more development, more of the world, different arcs, as it moves on, so you’ll hear no complaints from me.

Leave a Reply

